Skip to content

movies my husband hopes I never watch again

February 14, 2013
tags:

I like movies.  I like really deep, complicated,challenging movies.  I also like very silly movies that don’t seem to be popular.  Here are the top four movies I watch over, and over, and over again.  My guilty pleasures.  I’m not saying this list contains all my favorite movies (yes, a few) but these are those movies I’ll always watch if they’re on tv, and my DVD copies are in the front of my cabinet because they get watched the most.

photo100Muriel’s Wedding (1994)  Hands down, the movie I’ve seen more times than any other.

Why I Love it in 10 Words or Less:    Toni Collette.    ABBA.  Australian accents.

Favorite Quotes:  “I’m not nothing!” “You’re terrible, Muriel!” “What a co-in-cidence!” “I’m with Muriel.” “Chook hates the Japanese!” “You can’t stop progress!”

Favorite Scene:  Muriel reconnects with Rhonda, an acquaintance from high school, and enters a talent contest at a resort where the “Mean Girls” (Tania, Cheryl, and Nicole) are also vacationing.  They perform a dance number and lip synch to an ABBA classic in wigs and white jumpsuits.  Meanwhile, Tania and Nicole get in a fist fight over Tanya’s husband, Chook.  Watch on YouTube

Maybe I relate to Muriel’s chubby, unpopular goofiness and the desperation she feels.  I love the friendship between Muriel and Rhonda – it actually reminds me a lot of me and an old friend.  This movie makes me laugh and cry.  I just never get tired of it.

overboardOverboard (1887)

Why I Love it in 10 Words or Less:    Goldie Hawn. Kurt Russel. Yachts. Rednecks. Nostalgia.

Favorite Quotes:  Part of the reason this movie is so popular with me is because it was one my mom, sister and I watched a lot when I was growing up.  The quotes from this movie were thrown around a lot by the three of us.  When I married my husband I indoctrinated him by making him a bingo sheet with all the important quotes.  He had to listen carefully to catch them all.  He’s been expected to recognize the references ever since.  All the best lines can be seen to the left.

Favorite Scene:  Joanna is an heiress who falls off her yacht and experiences amnesia.  No one claims her at the hospital, despite local news coverage of the Jane Doe, because she was a spoiled, demanding princess.  Then Dean decides to bring her home and pretend she’s his wife and the mother of his four badly-behaved sons.  Joanna attempts to take on the responsibilities of the house, despite having no memory of her “family,” and being a “fish out of water” since she’s always been waited on.  In my favorite scene, she’s packing the boys lunch, which consists of peanut butter, mayonnaise and M&M sandwiches.  Here’s the theatrical trailer.

220px-GhostWorldSoundtrackGhost World (2001)

Why I Love it in 10 Words or Less:    Snark.  Angst.  Steve Buscemi.  Based on comic book.

Favorite Quotes:  “This is so bad it’s gone past good and back to bad again.” “I can’t relate to 99% of humanity.” “I liked her so much better when she was an alcoholic crack addict.” “Have some more kids, why don’t you?” “It’s America, dude. Learn the rules.”

Favorite Scene:  Enid and her best friend Rebecca respond fraudulently to a Missed Connections ad in their local circular, then go to a diner to watch their victim wait for the woman of his dreams to show up.  Here is a reel of some of the funniest moments.

This movie ends so sadly and somewhat mysteriously. The dialogue is so good.  It captures a lot of my own super sarcastic, cynical personality in my post-college years.  It has characters I would want to hang out with.

215px-Romy_and_michele_s_high_school_reunionRomy and Michele’s High School Reunion (1997)

Why I Love it in 10 Words or Less:    It’s just funny.

Favorite Quotes:  “Oh, okay. Um, I invented Post-Its.” “This dress exacerbates the genetic betrayal that is my legacy.”  “You look so good with blond hair and black roots its like not even funny.” “You know, even though we’ve watched Pretty Woman like thirty-six times, I never get tired of making fun of it.” “I was so lucky getting mono. That was like the best diet ever.” “Let’s fold scarves!”

Basically, I normally hate “chick flicks.”  I like this movie because, in a lot of ways, it’s a parody of what I hate about most movies made for women.

Honorable Mentions (a selection of other movies I love and watch repeatedly):

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

