Skip to content

I am not God’s failed junior high art project

March 8, 2012

I was reading Michael Ian Black’s “You’re Not Doing it Right” this weekend and he used a very peculiar phrase to describe (of all things) his dead father’s appearance in his casket:

He looks like the idea of a person, like the kind of thing God would have made in seventh-grade art class.

I was struck because there are times when someone else’s words can feel like your own. I feel exactly like God’s failed junior high art project sometimes.

Fearfully and wonderfully made. Knit together in my mother’s womb. All the hairs on my head have been counted. His eye is on the sparrow.

Got all that.

But also, I’m broken. I’m flawed. I disappoint myself. I sin. I regret. I lack. I lose. I fail.

Mostly, I’m thankful for a gracious God. One who forgives me and loves me despite my failures. One who made me with an expert hand in His own image for his delight. I’m thankful that I know to compare myself not to those around me but to the only perfect human who ever walked God’s earth. I’m thankful my sense and understanding of self and life comes from God and not from me or the world.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 8, 2012 7:26 pm

    Thankfully God doesn’t grow like we do – He had no 7th grade awkward stage, but, like you said, walked the earth as a perfect human. So, if we’re messed up, it’s our fault. And amazingly God gives us slack and even offers His perfection to fix our self-inflicted brokenness.

Leave a Reply

