Skip to content

for he’s a jolly good fellow

February 7, 2012

I love Charles Dickens.  February 7, his birthday, is a holiday to me.  I named my cat Dickens and would name my first born son Charles if my husband would allow it (he will not – nor will he accept the alternatives: Pip, David, Ebenezer, Fagin, Nicholas, Oliver, Chuzzlewit, or Tiny Tim).  I squealed audibly in delight at my desk at work this morning to see Google had honored Chas on their homepage for the 200th anniversary of his birth:

google.com

He’s criticized for being too moralistic, too sentimental, but few things outside the Word of God have so resonated in my heart.  Here are some of my favorite bits of Dickens.

 YES! and the bedpost was his own. The bed was his own, the room was his own. Best and happiest of all, the Time before him was his own, to make amends in! – A Christmas Carol, when Scrooge awakens after being visited by the three spirits

 

Home is a name, a word, it is a strong one; stronger than magician ever spoke, or spirit ever answered to, in the strongest conjuration.

 

Annual income twenty pounds, annual expenditure nineteen pounds and six, result happiness. Annual income twenty pounds, annual expenditure twenty pounds ought and six, result misery.

 

To conceal anything from those to whom I am attached, is not in my nature. I can never close my lips where I have opened my heart.

 

Whether I shall turn out to be the hero of my own life, or whether that station will be held by anybody else, these pages must show. – The opening line to David Copperfield

 

O let us love our occupations,
Bless the squire and his relations,
Live upon our daily rations,
And always know our proper stations.

 

No one is useless in this world who lightens the burden of it to anyone else.


Oh the nerves, the nerves; the mysteries of this machine called man! Oh the little that unhinges it, poor creatures that we are!

 

Subdue your appetites, my dears, and you’ve conquered human nature.

 

Have a heart that never hardens, and a temper that never tires, and a touch that never hurts.

 

That was a memorable day to me, for it made great changes in me. But, it is the same with any life. Imagine one selected day struck out of it, and think how different its course would have been. Pause you who read this, and think for the moment of the long chain of iron or gold, of thorns or flowers, that would never have bound you, but for the formation of the first link on one memorable day.

 

There are strings in the human heart that had better not be vibrated.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 7, 2012 11:46 pm

    🙂

Leave a Reply

