Skip to content

Three D-nied (pun master!)

February 6, 2012

I’m stereo-blind, which means I cannot see the 3D effects in movies.  My vision isn’t bad otherwise.  I have glasses but I wear them when I feel like it and can get around fine without them.  I remember going to Captain EO at Disneyland when I was a kid and not understanding why everyone was jumping and squealing (I also remember thinking MJ was a total freak). I saw Avatar in iMax 3D and there were only a few moments where I vaguely saw a hint of an extra dimension (and I might be alone, but for reasons unrelated to 3D, I “hated, hated, hated” that movie).

Those Magic Eye images used to frustrate me to no end when they were popular.  My friends would stare at them for twenty seconds and exclaim “Unicorn!” and I’d spend twenty minutes trying to see it.  My eyes just don’t work that way. I’m not alone – an estimated 4 to 10% of the population is stereo-blind, including Johnny Depp who stars in 3D movies like Alice in Wonderland.  (click here to test your own eyes) For some, it’s worse: 3D works but they have a binocular disorder and the effects make them sick.

I love film and criticism thereof, but I’m unable to join the 3D debate raging right now.  My only opinion is I don’t want to spend $18 to sit in a movie with special effects I cannot see.  The glasses are annoying and probably unsanitary but you can’t watch the movie without them.  But  for me, instead of the glasses making magical, three-dimensional effects, they just make the picture look “normal.”  I am worried, however, that 3D will become the norm.  The next crop of televisions is said to include 3D features (*groan*).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Meagan Kelly permalink
    February 6, 2012 5:34 pm

    Ugh… I don’t like that news about TV. I CAN see 3-D but I still hate it! I am one of those lucky ones that sometimes, though not always, gets motion sickness from 3-D stuff. Mostly video games though. My husband thinks 3-D TVs are awesome but hopefully we will never get one because I am so anti! That is so interesting that your eyes don’t work that way, I had never heard of this until reading your blog. Nice post!

  2. February 6, 2012 5:34 pm

    never heard of that! thanks for the lesson!

  3. Bonnie permalink
    February 6, 2012 5:44 pm

    I totally agree, the 3D images are not worth the money and gives me a horrible headache. Not sure if there is a way around the glasses, the alone bother me. I can see the 3D images but the resulting headache isn’t worth it.

    Bon

Trackbacks

  1. Three D-nied (pun master!) « immrskeller | Avatar Imax | 3D Experience | Cinema | Tickets | Locations

Leave a Reply

