Skip to content

Last Week in Photos: Domestic Edition

February 1, 2012

Last weekend my husband was out of town.  He is a reenactor and his Colonial group was camping, 18th century style.  I made him bread and butter to take.  I’d never made bread from scratch but it was a special request of the Lieutenant.   It was really fun.  First you proof the yeast.  The water temperature has to be just right, then you drop in the yeast and within a few minutes it starts exploding to the surface like little fireworks, then it’s all frothy and smells like beer.  After you mix in the other ingredients, it has to rise until it’s doubled.  It’s cool coming back 3o minutes later and seeing how much it’s grown.  The best part, though, is “punching it down.”  The feeling of fist into warm bread dough is pretty satisfying.  The butter was less fun (twenty minutes of ‘churning’) but I count it as my cardio for the day.  The finished product got great reviews so I think I’ll try some more bread recipes. (Here’s the one I used this time)

Adding to my domestic high for the week, I completed my first sewing project.

It’s a very small, dumb little pouch but you have to start somewhere.  The buttonhole machine in my classroom is pretty intense.  So are the sewing machines.  They have oil pans and clutches.  At first, I was intimidated but now I feel like a pro.  I sew one thing and all of a sudden I fancy myself a straight, white, female Mondo from Project Runway.  I just bought fabric for my next sewing adventure (a messenger bag).  I love shopping for fabric.  I’m pretty indecisive but it’s fun seeing all the options.

I also worked on my closet and all my drawers – bedroom and bathroom.  It started out as a small reorganization plan and turned into a day-long ordeal wherein everything came out and everything went back in.

My kitty checking out the finished product.

I felt very accomplished when it was done.  And I watched the entire Forsyte Saga while I worked, so I was multitasking. And the best thing is I found a lost treasure in a box I didn’t know was there.  It was better than finding $1000 in a coat pocket from last winter.  I’m planning a whole post about that, so stay tuned.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2012 5:53 pm

    Wow! you are so talented!

  2. Hilary permalink
    February 1, 2012 7:19 pm

    Seriously, as in 8th grade, so are we now… scarily alike. As far as the domesticity and organizational bent… and the propensity to find treasures in old cards/coat pockets/closets. My husband is not a reenactor but never say never, it could happen.

    Is that little pouch for your kindle? 🙂

Leave a Reply

