Skip to content

What’s a motto?

January 24, 2012

I heard this idea to make a family mission statement.  It reminded me a bit of Jerry Maguire and seemed kind of corny but I suggested it to my husband.  I haven’t read the book, but the idea came from “Seven Habits of Highly Effective Families.”  Anyway, we decided to try it.  It couldn’t hurt.  At the very least, it’d be something taking up space on our fridge.

It was HARD.  It took us hours of discussion, scribbling and editing.   It’s difficult to get everything you want to say into a concise statement.  Here are some tips if you decide to do this:

  • Try to include the two c’s of a quality mission statement: creed + conduct
  • Here’s a format that can be helpful:
    To…. (Do something) VERBS

    In such a way that….. (Quality of action) ADJECTIVES

    So that…. (We gain these results or benefits) NOUNS  …. For example:  “To make a difference in the world, a single light, shining brightly in such a way that we keep Jesus our focus, listen closely to His voice & enjoy life. So that we can say at the end of the day, we’ve touched others & thrived.”

  • A set of directions and discussion questions to get you thinking that we used: click here

I can’t say I’m 100% happy with ours.  I think the sentiment is correct but the wording is a little awkward, after hours of torturing the words. (Curtis told me to get busy cross-stitching it on a pillow, but I decided to use Adobe CS5 instead.)


When our circumstances change, like when we have children, our statement will change.  I think we’ll try to revisit it each January.  I’d love to hear yours if you have one!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    January 24, 2012 5:42 pm

    Thanks for sharing. I’d love to try this with James… I’ll see if he’s up for it.

Leave a Reply

