Skip to content

Experiencing God through FASH 100

January 11, 2012

I took a quiz once that was designed to show you how you best connect with God.  Some people need to be in nature.  Some people need to challenge themselves intellectually on theological topics.  Some people need rituals.  The results of the quiz told me I am primarily a worshiper.  Most people think of music when they hear the word ‘worship,’ and I do love to sing on Sunday mornings and listen to Christian music at home and in my car.  But there are other ways to worship.  I’m not going to get all emergent church here but the creation of many things we produce, not just joyful noises, can be worship.  God is the ultimate Creator and I really believe He delights in what we create for Him.

I had a high school teacher who worshiped through making loaves of bread from scratch.  She once explained how the process of mixing, kneading, rising, and baking made her feel closer to God and it’s a conversation that has stuck with me.  She brought her bread in for us sometimes, and the warm, soft purity of it was wonderful.  Similarly, in junior high there was a teacher who used interpretive dance  – both privately and in performance – to worship God.  Dance is certainly not something I do or am familiar with, but watching her, I understood.  Her movement was a conversation she was lifting up to God.

I am a fairly creative person.  Not incredibly crafty in the modern way “creative” is often understood.  I tried all the trendy crafts: scrapbooking, decoupaging, jewelry making, cake decorating, but none of it was very satisfying, and being sticky and covered in glitter is not something that makes me feel closer to God.  Yet I really enjoy the process of creation:  brainstorming, small failures, making a correction, reconsidering a design, starting over, trying something new and seeing what happens.

I got a random desire late last year to get a sewing machine.  It came from nowhere and was a strong voice in my head, and usually I try to listen to those.  So I asked my husband for a sewing machine for Christmas, and when I got it (thanks, hon!), I enrolled in classes. I already love the tools, the notions, the fabrics, the sounds, the possibilities.  From the first feel of fabric sheers slicing through muslin, the first whirr of the machine, the first hesitant stitches, I can already tell, this is my form of worship.

ImageSince Genesis 3, when Adam and Eve discovered their nakedness, we have sewed.  Ecclesiastes 3:7 tells us there is “a time to tear apart and a time to sew.” One of the Bible’s examples of a Godly woman, Dorcas, was a seamstress who made garments for widows and orphans (Acts 9).  And the Proverbs 31 wife, “looks for wool and flax and works with her hands in delight.”

Taking whole cloth, cutting it into pieces, and creating something useful and beautiful is an easy metaphor for what God accomplishes in us.

Having said all this, everyone I know is getting irregular messenger bags and/or ill-fitting pajama pants next Christmas.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

